The Philippines is an archipelago that consists of 7,641 islands[1] with a total land area of 301,780 square kilometers (116,518 sq mi).[2][3] The 11 largest islands contain 95% of the total land area. The largest of these islands is Luzon at about 105,000 square kilometers (40,541 sq mi). The next largest island is Mindanao at about 95,000 square kilometers (36,680 sq mi). The archipelago is around 800 kilometers (500 mi) from the Asian mainland and is located between Taiwan and Borneo.A child page on the panel page template.

The Philippine archipelago is divided into three island groupsLuzonVisayas, and Mindanao. The Luzon islands include Luzon itself, PalawanMindoroMarinduqueMasbateRomblonCatanduanesBatanes and Polilio. The Visayas is the group of islands in the central Philippines, the largest of which are: PanayNegrosCebuBoholLeyteSamarSiquijorBiliran and Guimaras. The Mindanao islands include Mindanao itself, DinagatSiargaoCamiguinSamal, plus the Sulu Archipelago, composed primarily of BasilanSulu, and Tawi-Tawi.